Everything you need to know about FAST5 netball


Fast5 (originally called FastNet) is an exiting, fast-paced variation of traditional netball featuring shortened quarters, fewer players and goals worth multiple points. The new jazzed-up format was announced by the International Federation of Netball Associations (IFNA) in 2008, and was primarily developed for a new international competition, the FAST5 Netball World Series.

Experience the FAST5 Netball World Series 2022 in Christchurch, New Zealand.

The condensed format was designed to make games faster and more television-friendly, with the ultimate aim of raising the sport’s profile around the world – similar to Twenty20 cricket or Rugby Sevens.

Difference between FAST5 and standard rules netball

Short answer: 

No wings and long-range shots for extra points.

Long answer…

The differences between the FAST5 format and standard international netball includes:

Players: Each side only has five players on the court, compared with seven in normal netball competition.
Six minute quarters instead of 15 minutes in normal international netball competition.
Coaching: Coaches can give instructions to players from the sidelines during play, which is not allowed in standard international rules.
Substitutions: Unlimited rolling substitutions are permitted with no stoppages in play. Standard international rules only allow substitutions between quarters or when a player is injured.
Power Plays: Teams can separately nominate one “power play” quarter, when each goal scored by that team counts for double points. The two teams cannot nominate the same quarter to be their power play.
2 and 3 point shots: Goal shooter (GS) and goal attack (GA) may shoot goals from outside the shooting circle for two points from inside the outer zone and three points from the super shot zone. Standard international netball only allows 1 point shots from within the shooting circle.
Centre passes: After each goal, the team that conceded the goal takes the next centre pass. In standard netball this alternates between the two teams, regardless of who scored.
Tied scores:
Tied games are decided by penalty shoot-outs, similar to soccer/football shoot outs. Standard international netball continues in extra time.

FAST5 Netball World Series

Image source: Netball NZ

History of FAST5 netball

After being trialled in some junior leagues in England and Australia, the IFNA officially introduced the short version in 2008 under the title “FastNet”. The format was developed specifically for the new international competition known as the Netball World Series.

In 2012 some rules were tweaked and the name and format we see today was created. 


The Netball World Series is an annual competition where the top six ranked teams in the world battle it out for the title of world champs. Previous competitors include the main netball playing countries of Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Fiji, Jamaica, Malawi and Samoa. 

Experience FAST5 Netball World Series live in Christchurch in 2022!

Previous Netball World Series

FAST5 Netball World Series 2022

In November 2022, the top 6 ranked teams in the world will battle it out at Christchurch Arena, New Zealand for the FAST5 Netball World Series.

Teams competing as of June 2022 are: Australia, New Zealand, England, South Africa, Jamaica and Uganda.

2022 FAST5 Netball World Series – Event Details

Official event name:FAST5 Netball World Series 2022
Event start sate:04 November, 2022
Event end date:06 November, 2022
Event category:Netball
Teams:Australia, New Zealand, England, Jamaica, South Africa, Uganda
Event location:Christchurch Arena 
Event address:55 Jack Hinton Drive
Christchurch 8024
New Zealand


Soak up all the action on and off the court with our FAST5 travel package, including: 

  • Platinum Tournament Pass,
  • 4-star hotel accommodation,
  • Exclusive hospitality experiences

And more! Browse our package today and reserve your seat to be part of the FAST5 action in Christchurch.