RWC tournaments


Best result

Winners(1991, 1999)


Michael Hooper


David Rennie

Most tries

Drew Mitchell(14)

Most points

Michael Lynagh(195)

Australia have a proud history of competing at Rugby World Cup. Whilst rarely entering a Tournament as roaring favourites, Australia tend to rise to the occasion. With plenty of young players, Australia’s road to RWC 2023 will be all about finding balance of youth and experience. Coach Dave Rennie has begun to get the most out of his side since taking control of the team. Australia will look to tap into history, having won the last edition of Rugby World Cup hosted in France in 1999.

Key Player: Michael Hooper

The engine. The workhorse. Arguably the form flanker in world rugby, Michael Hooper is at the heart of much of what the Australians do in attack and defence. He’s barely missed a match for the nation through selection or injury.

X-factor: Taniela Topou

Whether in the run-on side or off the bench, Tupou is most renowned for his work at scrum time as a devastating prop. However, it’s often his carries that excite the crowd and put his side on the front-foot, made even more dangerous with some deft touches.

Why they can win

Australia are a difficult side to write off, often bucking form trends. Their side is expected to boast plenty of youth who may provide the spark required to lift the Trophy.

Australia's RWC 2023 Pool Matches

Australia's RWC 2023 Pool Matches


Other teams to watch out for