RWC tournaments


Best result

Winners(1987, 2011, 2015)


Owen Farrell


Eddie Jones

Most tries

Rory Underwood(11)

Most points

Jonny Wilkinson(277)

Stinging from their home campaign loss in RWC 2015, England went on the defeat the much fancied New Zealand side only to go one short of winning in Japan 2019. They just met one better that year in a powerful South African side, but will spend the four years between preparing and thinking what could have been. The English side is an ever-present threat at RWC, with the ability to grind out wins. Their scrummaging and mauls have been a focal point of their play this century, but they have depth in their backline, giving Eddie Jones plenty to select from.

Key Player: Maro Itoje

Rugby has seen its fair share of rangy, talented locks, but there feels to be something classier about Itoje. Imperative to their success at the set-piece, particularly their lineout and maul, he’s become somewhat of a talisman for the English side.

X-factor: Marcus Smith

He is by no means a certainty for the English side in Rugby World Cup 2023, but Marcus Smith has exploded onto the international stage gaining plaudits from players and pundits around the globe. Smith oozes skill and class, already making this young English player one of the players to watch.

Why they can win

The side that made the final in RWC 2019 was a relatively young one. With experience, England will come into France with a well-rounded side and an immense amount of belief.

England's RWC 2023 Pool Matches

England's RWC 2023 Pool Matches


Other teams to watch out for