RWC tournaments


Best result

Winners(1995, 2007, 2019)


Siya Kolisi


Rasi Erasmus

Most tries

Bryan Habana(15)

Most points

Handre Pollard(162)

Since their Rugby World Cup debut in 1995, a tournament they won in iconic fashion, South Africa have always been a force. They have three Tournament wins, sitting equal with New Zealand as the most prolific nations. They will need to reset after an emotional contest in Japan 2019, however, it is a side that is shaping as a key contender. The South African game is a mix of brutal scrummaging and mauling, expansive play, and effective long-range kicking. They have the ability to out-pace or out-grind their opponents, with a penchant for winning close games off the boots of their goal-kickers.

Key Player: Faf de Klerk

Many of the most iconic photos which came out of Rugby World Cup 2019 were of de Klerk holding the Webb Ellis Trophy aloft. The prodigious half-back will be an imperative player, guiding his team around the park and choosing moments of attack.

X-factor: Cheslin Kolbe

You would be hard-pressed to find a rugby fan who doesn’t love to see Cheslin Kolbe running with ball in hand. His footwork and speed can light up a game or a stadium and is surely one player who will be keenly watched at RWC 2023.

Why they can win

As the current holders of the Webb Ellis Trophy, South Africa will come into 2023 as one of the hot favourites. They will just need to maintain that passion and exuberance.

South Africa's RWC 2023 Pool Matches

South Africa's RWC 2023 Pool Matches


Other teams to watch out for