Everything you need to know about FAST5 Netball

Fast5 is an exciting, fast-paced variation of traditional netball featuring shortened quarters, fewer players and goals worth multiple points.

Did you like the post? Share it now:


What is Fast5 Netball?

Fast5 (originally called FastNet) is an exiting, fast-paced variation of traditional netball featuring shortened quarters, fewer players and goals worth multiple points. The new jazzed-up format was announced by the International Federation of Netball Associations (IFNA) in 2008, and was primarily developed for a new international competition, the FAST5 Netball World Series.

Experience the FAST5 Netball World Series in Christchurch, New Zealand.

The condensed format was designed to make games faster and more television-friendly, with the ultimate aim of raising the sport’s profile around the world – similar to Twenty20 cricket or Rugby Sevens.

Difference between FAST5 and standard rules netball

Short answer: 

No wings and long-range shots for extra points.

Long answer…

The differences between the FAST5 format and standard international netball includes:

Players: Each side only has five players on the court, compared with seven in normal netball competition.

Timing: Six minute quarters instead of 15 minutes in normal international netball competition.

Coaching: Coaches can give instructions to players from the sidelines during play, which is not allowed in standard international rules.
Substitutions: Unlimited rolling substitutions are permitted with no stoppages in play. Standard international rules only allow substitutions between quarters or when a player is injured.

Power Plays: Teams can separately nominate one “power play” quarter, when each goal scored by that team counts for double points. The two teams cannot nominate the same quarter to be their power play.
2 and 3 point shots: Goal shooter (GS) and goal attack (GA) may shoot goals from outside the shooting circle for two points from inside the outer zone and three points from the super shot zone. Standard international netball only allows 1 point shots from within the shooting circle.

Centre passes: After each goal, the team that conceded the goal takes the next centre pass. In standard netball this alternates between the two teams, regardless of who scored.

Tied scores: Tied games are decided by penalty shoot-outs, similar to soccer/football shoot outs. Standard international netball continues in extra time.

FAST5 Netball World Series

Image source: Netball NZ

History of FAST5 netball

After being trialled in some junior leagues in England and Australia, the IFNA officially introduced the short version in 2008 under the title “FastNet”. The format was developed specifically for the new international competition known as the Netball World Series.

In 2012 some rules were tweaked and the name and format we see today was created. 


The Netball World Series is an annual competition where the top six ranked teams in the world battle it out for the title of world champs. Previous competitors include the main netball playing countries of Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Fiji, Jamaica, Malawi and Samoa. 

Experience FAST5 Netball World Series live in Christchurch.

Previous Netball World Series

FAST5 Netball World Series

In November 2022, the top 6 ranked teams in the world battled it out at Christchurch Arena, New Zealand for the FAST5 Netball World Series, including Australia, New Zealand, England, South Africa, Jamaica and Uganda.

Australia came out victorious for the first time, with South Africa runners up and New Zealand taking out third place.


The next 2023 Fast5 Netball World Series will be held in Christchurch again. You can soak up all the action on and off the court with a FAST5 travel package, which will includes a Platinum Tournament Pass, convenient local accommodation and exclusive hospitality experiences.

Register for presale access not to be first to know when packages become available.

Did you like the post? Share it now:

On Key

Related Posts